Skip to content
Home » What are the seven major steps of the Hajj?

What are the seven major steps of the Hajj?

We know that every Muslim wishes to make a stunning journey to Mecca. This religious pilgrimage is also known as Hajj. It also has great significance and many interesting facts. This sacred trip is a collection of several rituals and steps. In this context, study the following topic: “What are the seven major steps of the Hajj?” This article will guide you toward finding the correct answer to this worrying question.

Hajj is a religious journey to Mecca that takes place once a year. Every physically and financially competent Muslim must perform this major pilgrimage at least once in his lifetime by booking Hajj Packages. There are many main steps and rites of Hajj, such as the Day of Arafah, Muzdalifah, and farewell Tawaf.

Hajj – Seven major rituals

The ceremonies of Hajj are performed for five or six days, officially beginning on the 8th of Dhul Hijjah and ending on the 13th of the same month. It is the largest annual religious congregation that takes place in Islam. There are seven basic rituals associated with a sacred pilgrimage to Mecca. These are the following:

  1. Intentions and Ihram

Making a sincere intention and wearing Ihram garments are the first two essential steps of Hajj. After making an intention, Muslim pilgrims are encouraged to wear Ihram, which consists of two unstitched white sheets for men and a loose-fitting outfit for women. Before crossing the Miqat, the outer boundaries of Mecca, it is advised that pilgrims should wear Ihram for the Hajj.

Pilgrims must perform Tawaf Qudoom and Sa’i inside the walls of the Grand Mosque of Mecca after attaining the holy state of Ihram.

  1. Reaching Mina

Mina, a small city, is located 6 kilometres from Mecca. It is advised that when pilgrims reach the small town of Mina, they stay there and rest until the next day. Pilgrims offer all five prayers while they are in Mina, starting with the noon prayer and ending with the Morning Prayer.

  1. The Day of Arafah – the 9th of Dhul Hijjah

Before noon on the 9th of Dhul Hijjah, pilgrims arrive in Arafat, a desolate area about 20 kilometres east of Mecca. They keep a respectable vigil, ask for forgiveness for their past misdeeds, and listen to the sermon delivered by Islamic scholars from close to Mount Arafat. According to Islamic history, the last Prophet Muhammad (PBUH) gave his last sermon on this mountain. At Namirah Mosque, pilgrims perform both the noon and afternoon prayers together.

Read Also: Why will the Umrah packages for women be affordable in 2023?

  1. Arriving at Muzdalifah

The next stop for the pilgrims is Muzdalifah, a small city situated between Mina and Mount Mercy (Mount Arafat). When pilgrims reach this location at sunset, they perform both sunset and night prayers together. Muslims spend an entire night under the open sky and collect 49 pebbles of similar sizes for the ritual of Rami al-Jamarat. They depart from this small town on the morning of the 10th of Dhul Hijjah.

  1. Stoning the devil – Rami al-Jamarat

On arriving at Mina, pilgrims perform the ritual of Rami Jamarat-al-Aqabah. Seven stones are thrown at the column structure. This deed is done in memory of the Prophet Ibrahim (A.S.) when the devil tried to discourage him from obeying the order of God. Prophet Ibrahim (A.S.) reacted by throwing some pebbles to make the devil go away.

  1. Sacrifice

After performing Rami, pilgrims slaughter animals to remember the tale of the Prophets Ibrahim (A.S.) and Ismail (A.S.). This sacrificed animal can be a camel or a lamb. Pilgrims should distribute slaughtered animal meat to the poor.

  1. Tawaf Wida – Farewell circumambulation

After performing the Hajj, the farewell Tawaf is the final ceremony a pilgrim must undertake before leaving Mecca. However, only those who have travelled for Hajj from outside the borders of the Miqat, are required to do so. Therefore, those living within the boundaries of Miqat are exempt from the duty to complete this circumambulation.


Hajj is an annual religious journey to Mecca. It serves as a symbol of brotherhood, peace, and submission to Allah Almighty. It also has a great history and numerous main rituals and steps. These steps may include the Day of Arafah, stoning the devil, and sacrifice. Now, it has become easy for Muslims to perform pilgrimage by purchasing Hajj packages 2023.